Delete custom area categories

New functionality

We have added a new improvement to the Manage Custom Areas page. You can now delete custom area categories – hoorah!

Delete custom area categories button

Using custom area categories

The categories feature is used by many users to organise custom areas. For those of you with hundreds of custom areas, this feature helps keep Local Insight manageable and organised.

We receive lots of positive feedback from you about custom area categories. Now that you are able to delete categories, we hope you’ll find them even more useful. Have a go experimenting with some new ways to use custom area categories. For example, use temporary categories for particular projects. Then when you are done, simply delete the category.

The categories and the order of the custom areas within your categories affects how your custom areas are displayed on the dashboard, the data for your areas popup and under the services icon on the maps page. Do you have any key areas you are always using? Why not move them to a category at the top so you can always find them. 

Please note. You cannot delete categories which contain custom areas. To delete these categories you must first delete or move any custom areas within them.

Learn more 

To learn more about using categories to organise your custom areas, check out this article on our Knowledge Base: